Close

The Rundown

Aaron Judge Hit 4 Home Runs in 2 Days to Break the Rookie Record

New York Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge is sitting on 46 home runs for the season and his pursuit of the MLB single season record of 61 home runs in a season- set by Roger Maris in 1961- is still a thing. He would need to go on a hot streak to surpass Maris, but at least he’s not playing with Monopoly money the way Bonds, McGwire and Sosa did back in the Age of Bud. Judge has been the lone bright spot for the Bombers since the team woke up from its magic carpet ride last month and started playing like the Kansas City Royals. Those solid World Series prospects have taken a sad turn but at least Judge is still giving Bombers fans something to get excited about. And so what if all it means is that he’s auditioning for the Los Angeles Dodgers, it still counts.

This early edition of the Rundown will be the last episode of August and I pushed it up so as to provide an extra day with which to reply to any comments before I D.B. Cooper the hell out of town until next weekend. I’ll be back ‘live’ in September with more of the good, the blah and the gravy.

As for the last Rundown of summer, let’s get to it!

Biden signs massive climate and health care legislation | AP News

Joe Biden signed the Inflation Reduction Act this week. The bill aims to lower prescription drug costs, address global warming, raise taxes on billion dollar corporations, reduce the federal deficit and bring back the McDonalds fried apple pie. And okay, I made up that last one about Mickey D’s bringing back my favorite fast food item ever. Even if it is well past time.

The President called the sweeping bill a win for the American people and a loss for special interests. He also took a jab at Republicans by pointing out that not a single one crossed the aisle to side with him on this. Add to this a backdrop where Trump is divulging the names of the FBI agents who conducted the raid on his crib . . . while Liz Cheney attempts to steel Americans against the violent reprisals from Trump Nation during her concession speech in the Wyoming House seat race . . while DeSantis plays like Little Finger down in Tallahassee.

If you thought the mid-terms were going to be contentious before, just you wait . . .

Barbecue Pork Sandwich With Reese's Peanut Butter Cups Goes Viral

Marco’s Hell No! of the week goes to the Kansas City Royals, whose horrid performance on the field has seeped into their concessions now. The above menu item was rolled out by the team and while I am down for the mad science of menu mashups, this creation has frenched my fries.

The new BBQ Reese’s sandwich starts with pulled pork being strangled in a bath of barbecue sauce (Strike one!), followed by bacon bits (Strike two!) and finished, literally, with crumbled Reese’s peanut butter cups (You’re out!).

Keanon Lowe, Oregon coach, takes gun, hugs would-be shooter in video

Let’s hope Disney is gonna make good on its plans to make a movie about Keanon Lowe’s heroic efforts to thwart a school shooting back in 2019. Parkrose High School student Angel Diaz had grown so despondent that he intended to shoot himself in front of his classmates. And if you’re of the opinion that compassion has gone out of style, check out this simple exchange that helped prevent a tragedy that day.

“Nobody cares about me,” A sobbing Angel Diaz told Lowe.

“I care about you,” Lowe told him. “That’s why I’m here. I’m here to save you. I got you, buddy.”

Lowe lost his job at Parkrose in the year of Covid, but ever the survivor, he’s bounced back just fine; he wrote a book and he’s currently working on Scott Frost’s Nebraska Cornhuskers staff. His story is one that needs to get told and shared and remembered. Get this done Disney!

Sarah Palin is back? Well, in typical Palin fashion, she’s kind of maybe sort of almost but not entirely back. She’ll be taking part in a special election in her bid to nab Alaska’s one House seat, and if you ask me, I’ve missed Tina Fey so I’m kinda torn on this whole thing.

I’ve included a multiple choice quiz for the occasion. All you have to do is pick out the Sarah Palin gem from the four possible choices below. Good luck!

A) “The only thing that stops a bad guy with a nuke is a good guy with a nuke”.
B) “‘Refudiate,’ ‘misunderestimate,’ ‘wee-wee’d up.’ English is a living language. Shakespeare liked to coin new words too. Got to celebrate it!’
C) “Polls? Nah . . . They’re for strippers and cross-country skiers,”
D) “Only dead fish go with the flow,”

The answer of course, is all of them.

Two large bears interact in an open-air enclosure.

Marco’s Hell Yes! of the week goes to the good people of Kyiv who are saving bears in the war-torn region of Ukraine. Natalia Popova and the animal protection organization UA Animals have already sent 200 of these magnificent creatures abroad while relocating 100 more west of the city. I’ll leave it to the writer and naturalist Henry Beston to ride this baby home.

The creatures with whom we share the planet and whom, in our arrogance, we wrongly patronize for being lesser forms, they are not brethren, they are not underlings, they are other nations, caught with ourselves in the net of life and time, fellow prisoners of the splendour and travail of the Earth.

Ship salvagers find message in bottle, return it to family of late son

Brian Dahl was eleven years old when he wrote a letter to the future. The sixth-grader from Oxford, Mississippi had mailed the letter inside a bottle as part of a class project. It was during a field trip that the kids launched their words and thoughts into the Talahatchie River. Brian remembered to say “Please” and “Thank you” to the recipient of his message in a bottle back in 1989.

Fast forward to 2022 when Billy Mitchell, a salvage worker in Vicksburg, some 200 miles north of Oxford, happened upon Brian’s message wrapped in a green bottle.  “I always look for stuff that’s unique — driftwood or anything . .” Little did he know that his find would turn into a lot more than anything.

Mitchell and his boss Brad Babb got to work in an attempt to find the author. They had their work cut out for them. Most of the letter had been destroyed so they reconstructed the remaining life in it with precious care: They stayed after work and they called local school districts and then they posted an image of the message and its contents on the company’s Facebook page.

That’s how the Dahl family was reunited with their son Brian, who passed away at the age of 29. Eric, wife Melanie and son Chris made the trek to Vicksburg to meet the people who had discovered the thirty-three year old message. And then Brian’s family shared stories of the man they knew with the people who had re-introduced them to the boy they loved.

A special meeting of new friends, made possible by a boy with a huge heart. One last hello, delivered from the grasp of oblivion to the future he never got to see but one he most certainly has touched, with words that never stopped breathing and a love that never stopped swimming. Billy Mitchell believes the note is proof that Brian is still here, keeping watch.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound.

 

 

37 thoughts on “The Rundown

  1. Great post, Marc. I hope you have a super vacation. I see a couple of VooDoo Rangers in your future and a share with a beautiful woman. Great stuff. That sandwich made my teeth hurt just reading about it. I hope the economists are wrong about the inflation-fighting bill and it does as it says as opposed to increasing inflation further.. I still don’t like the fact that there will be 87,000 IRS agents running around. I never met an IRS agent who had the taxpayer’s interest in mind. Since there are only 900 fatcat earners in the US, I wonder what the other 86,100 agents are going to be doing? Don’t look behind you one may be there. Let’s hope Judge makes it. Let’s hope Disney does too. At least Palin is good for laughs if nothing else. All the animals and people of the Ukraine need help. Good to see the bears getting some. Brian’s story is a tear jerker for sure. His family deserves something. Thanks again for a great post. I’ll see you when you get back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would think you a mind reader if I didn’t know better, Boss. 😉

      It’s a big fat nope to a foodie experiment gone awry.

      Yeah, that’s my thing. When they start talking this way it always makes me think about all that free time the suits are gonna have once they catch the fish in the barrel. Hell, the rest of us don’t have a chance.

      I hope Judge can keep it interesting at the very least. It’s going to be hard. A 162 game schedule catches up with a player, especially one that is toting around history.

      Disney best make this movie.

      I saw Sarah speak at the stadium for our independent league baseball team back in 2008. Long runway, knee high boots, who really was paying attention to what she said? I know I wasn’t.

      Good on the bears. Our wildlife needs as much help as it can get.

      I was floored by the story. All the effort these strangers put in to finding these people, it’s inspiring as all get out.

      Gracias mucho, Jefe!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think Judge will be a forever Yankee, but he may yet get himself that record this year. BBQ Reese’s sandwich is D.O.A. for me, and I love both…just not mashed together. Welcome back Tina…um, Sarah. I don’t know if inflation will get worse, but I do know the supply chain issues across the world need to be sorted out stat. It is good to see some humans helping out the wildlife caught up in a stupid human war.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t either. I hope he at least makes a great push for the record on his way out the door.

      Ugh! Why do they insist on pushing the envelope in the wrong direction? This sammie is just plain wrong.

      Both!

      We need to sort out and work through a ton of things. And first on the list should be kindness. Sounds corny, but it’s much needed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for hitting on some of the unbelievable happenings of late. I’ve tremendous respect for Cheney ( not liking her politically conservative platform) but she’s one gutsy lady and I admire her willingness to put it all on the line in an attempt to save our democracy from the Trump cultists. Sarah Palin is an ignoramus but in the Trump world that doesn’t matter. Too bad she heartily contributed to the failure of McCain’s run for president… again a decent man .I early voted today. I hope to help eject DeSantis’ ass out of the Governor’s mansion. Thanks for a most informative post. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. B,

    Gonna send Judge what he needs to beat that season record. Like you said, gotta have one bright spot, eh?

    D.B. Cooper, eh? You’re not hijacking a plane, are ya? I like to be forewarned about these types of scenarios… September… Holy crap. It will be the week after, won’t it? Yowaza.

    Mmmm… McD’s apple pie… that was my one fave thing… But only with the OLD orange drink, a little flat, way too sweet. Can’t explain that combo.
    Who is surprised not one single solitary Republican joined in on the Inflation Reduction Act. We wouldn’t want the people to accept certain facts as true. I am still slack-jawed (don’t know why) with the divulging of the FBI names…

    HELL NO! That is beyond disgusting.

    I thought you were doing a redux of the Lowe/Diaz story, for a fraction of a second. Disney really should jump on this bandwagon.

    Lookit her as a blonde. Sarah, I dunno… Now that you mentioned it, where is Tina Fey? That said, I almost miss the dumbass shit she said. Somehow MTG’s stupid ain’t the same.

    How fantabulous that Ukraine manages to take care of its wildlife while fighting off the Russians. Kudos to Natalia Popva and the UA. That quote is bang on.

    Oh my goodness. That Brian Dahl story just gave me the shivers. What a gift to his family! I am always humbled when people like Billy Mitchell and Brad Babb go to such lengths. My heart is filled.

    Amazing Grace, indeed.

    Perfect song, of course.

    Q

    Liked by 1 person

    • Q

      I hope Aaron takes a real shot at this record, because it would be good for the sport.

      No way Josie. I don’t dig on heights, so the only way my ass finds itself on the wrong side of a jet plane’s doors is if I’m pushed.

      The deep fried classic, never had it with Orange soda. But mmmmm.

      The GOP certainly didn’t have to go along with Biden point for point. But I wonder how much involvement they had in this at all.

      No to the sammie AND to KC Royals baseball.

      No, it was a story I read about Lowe in which Disney had talked about making a movie. I hope they do it.

      MTG takes the cake. Palin can just hide behind her.

      I love that bear story. These creatures need to be taken care of AND left alone. Both.

      That Dahl story . . . goosebumps when I read it. To think about how that bottle traveled through all this history and on the other side, it’s still full of hope and inspiration.

      Yes.

      Gracias.

      B

      Liked by 1 person

      • Let’s hope he does.

        Haha! Chicken. 😉 So, no coming with me in a helicopter with the doors open, then?

        But it has to be the old McD orange soda that was almost flat. Weirdest thing, I know.

        Seems to me they could have joined in on one or two but nope… We can’t have the two parties in accord for anything lately.

        Nope and Nope.

        No, I realised that one sentence in 😉 And it would be a wonderful project.

        Haha! True. Palin pales in comparison… hyuck, hyuck, hyuck 😉

        They really do.

        Oh my goodness. It is such a beautiful story.

        You know it.

        Liked by 1 person

        • On his way out of town . . .

          Chicken? More like sensible and coherent, 😉 Nah, open doors are for . . . well, I can’t think of an instance, but they’re certainly not for helicopters.

          It’s a thing for you. I do understand the flat soda.

          I just would like to know the involvement or lack thereof. What did certain members think of this or that? What would they have done instead? I’m rarely for sweeping bills because it seems nothing good comes of them, but I want to know why the disconnect.

          The sauce slathered on the sammie, I was already done with it.

          I think it’s one of those stories that needs to get told.

          Haha! Pun Alert! I guess what they say is true. Que Sarah Sarah, whatever will be, will be.

          Yup

          It is. Message in a bottle too. Wow.

          I dew.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Marc that was so touching. Well the bit about Brian. Those are impressive words for a six grader and put us to shame. He spoke the truth that we should all embrace. As for the politicians… My mother always said if I had nothing good to say, I should say nothing. Enjoy your time off. Relax. Rejuvenate. Remember.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Dahl story really hit me. Just the idea that a message carrying his memory made it back to his family after all this time. Maybe it doesn’t mean anything, but maybe it means everything.

      Where HAS that idea gone? Our politics has become more like “Ready, shoot, aim!”.

      Thank you muchly Pam

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great post to head off into the vacay sunset, Marc! Well done. “Littlefinger” is a most apt moniker for the guv of FL. As for the Alaskan candidate who shan’t get a name nod from me, there just isn’t enough word soup being served to adequately describe her. Frankly I’d prefer she go on the reality TV circuit permanently so I don’t have to see or hear her. Here’s hoping you have a fantastic vacation. Maybe the Striped Boys will get their act together and begin a winning streak on the way to October’s fun. Bon voyage.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you muchly Monika.

      Governor Littlefinger it is!

      What? And miss out on all her amazing history lessons? Surely you jest!

      Win or lose, I want Judge to make a run. It would be nice to have his name attached to a hallowed record like that.

      Thank you again, you’re the best.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You have all these women chirping. You’re like the Elvis of the blog world. I can hear them gushing over my ceiling fan. As for this chickadee…

    You got me with Mr. Lowe and the bears. I’m changing those Elvis lyrics..all shook up, to all choked up.

    I echo John hoping you have a wonderful holiday. LIfe’s short fellow Yankee fan, so make sure all bets are off in the enjoyment department.

    Mr Speaker sent word for me to tell you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Before I was any good with girls, I decided to just be friends. I figured it was much smarter to learn than to guess. It helped a clumsy little dork like me immensely. Which is why, when a young man today complains that a young lady he has designs on put him in the “Friend Zone”, I tell him go!

      That Lowe story, when I first wrote about it, it was belatedly. Because the story had been buried in the back pages since yanno, nothing happened. Even though in reality, every good thing happened.

      The bears are magnificent creatures. Just like the lions and tigers and all their other neighbors. They understand the earth is for renting, not buying.

      I want to run for something so you can be my Chief of Staff. We’ll enlist our staff based on their knowledge of Yankee baseball and the Godfather.

      Hugs. Mr. Speaker sends one too.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Yes – get on the ball Disney and make the movie!
    And out with the Reese’s cup – yuck – what a way to ruin a sandwich
    Oh and laughing at the Pailin comments and humor
    Tina Fey was so perfect for acting like her

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Back to top