When Ignorance Met Bliss

21 Dangerous Things That Used To Be Normal

I was thinking back on all the shit that used to pass for normal back in the day. The sweet spot I speak of existed for yours truly from the pre-Watergate era all the way through the Reagan administration, whose second term may have been the inspiration for Weekend at Bernie’s. I ain’t sure.

In our defense, it’s not like we were looking for trouble, we were simply courting it earnestly. Ours was a world where beloved films such as The Wizard of Oz used asbestos for the snow scenes. No worries, since our parents and their parents before them were using the stuff to dress up their Christmas trees.

The worst that could happen? Oh, we lived that . . . .

Vintage McDonald's Amber/Honey Gold Glass Ashtray restaurant scratched/chip

I never supped on a speedball but I did take part in an extra-curricular activity that was equally life threatening. I’m old enough to remember hanging out at the Golden Arches and tossing back burgers, fries and sugary drinks while chasing those bad ideas with another; Cigarettes! Adults found our adolescent frolicking acceptable since it meant we weren’t spray painting buses or stealing cars. The fact that we were spelunking our way to heart disease and emphysema never occurred to us because the doctors who would let us in on the joke decades later were doing the exact same shit! As for the ashtrays Mickey D’s supplied, this amber beauty must have come from one of the cushier joints because alls we got were the embossed aluminum jobs. Oh well, we didn’t concern ourselves with the aesthetics anyhow.

No Seat Belts in 1950's and 1960's | Vintage children, Old photos, History

It wasn’t all that long ago that a loud and ornery minority of the population were fighting for their bodily autonomy against a repressive government they felt was usurping their right to be unsafe. No, I’m not talking about masks, you silly kids. There was a mini-revolt when seatbelts became a thing, and I was a young revolutionary. Mind you , I was also five years old and in dire need of some fun. I loved riding shotgun as my mother hurtled down the highway like the female version of Steve McQueen in our old Chevy Impala. There I was, all three-foot-six inches of me playing it fast and loose as I counted billboards and hummed along to Beatles songs. A head on collision would’ve deposited me into the murky depths of a Yonkers pothole; transforming me into a half-assed patch job (literally) that would’ve spared the road workers the hassle of filling it in. Dangerous as all get out? Yes. Worth it? Hell yes. And I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the jaunts we would take when I got a little older, a half dozen kids packed into the backseat like smuggled wildebeests. Today it would result in a stiff fine but back then? It was called the weekend.

Texas school reinstates paddling

When I was in elementary school, I could’ve written a report on the practice of corporal punishment. I would’ve argued that such behavior was reprehensible and worse. Of course, my opinion would’ve been colored by the numerous times I met the business end of a map pointer or wooden paddle as the result of various misbehaviors. One particular lowlight of my career as a juvenile delinquent in training included having a map pointer broken over my ass by a pissed off nun after I flirted with our music teacher. And then there was Mr. Stewart, the principal at Silverside Elementary in Wilmington, Delaware. I was usually one of the grim faced suspects who formed a line outside his office, waiting for an advocate that would never appear. A varnished oak paddle awaited us on the other side of a closed door, because Mr. Stewart was equal parts educator and sadist. Believe it or not, corporal punishment is still practiced in 12 states. I’m guessing Mr. Stewart is looking up with an evil grin on his face over that fact.

Touch of Knievel | The Stacks Reader

When I was seven years old, I wanted to be Evel Knievel. Minus all the broken bones and domestic notoriety to which I was blissfully ignorant, of course. The larger than life superstar was one of the first to merge the world of sports highlight shows with celebrity entertainment. His stunts were appointment television and for this impressionable young chap, I was duly inspired to simulate my hero. This need to bleed wasn’t discouraged by the older folks either, nope. In fact, they were an integral part of my audience whenever I put on a show. With their drinks in hand they would cheer me on as a collection of little lovelies dressed in curls turned applause into a Karen Carpenter song. I would vault over a thin wooden plank on my dirt bike with my eyes closed and hope for the best. The adults alcohol infused reviews equaled credibility and helped me grow a fan base.

It’s a mystery how I didn’t go into politics.

Iggy Pop- Gimme Danger

53 thoughts on “When Ignorance Met Bliss

  1. And yet we survived. Kids are dropping dead today at such an early age because of bazaar drugs with cute names. They are being killed in wars that I don’t understand. We lived in our naivety but we lived! There is so much fear, animosity and hatred today that I question whether or not they are living…

    Liked by 2 people

    • And how!

      This is so true, and what might be a prevailing theme? I say it’s the fact that “community” ain’t what it used to be. We used to know our neighbors as kids, and if we got in trouble, they called us on it. Not to say we didn’t get away with stuff, but accountability, that still mattered.

      We were naΓ―ve in some ways yes. But we also were outside. We had the run of the neighborhoods and we explored and learned. We learned from our scars.

      I do not envy this generation. At all.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Those were the days. I also remember playing knights with clothes poles and our bikes. Made jousting look tame. Good thing for garbage can tops as shields. Enjoyed the post, Pilgrim and wonder, like you, how did we ever survive?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Weren’t they something CC?

      And yanno, I feel the same way. We learned the world from the thick of our moppy heads to the ends of our fingernails. It was preferable to what the current generation is living in.

      Like

  3. I’ve got the feeling every generation of kids created havoc for their parents. It’s part of growing up. Oh well … as a nonsmoker, I don’t recall those McD ashtrays … but I’m having a difficult time thinking you were a frequent visitor to the principal’s office!

    Liked by 2 people

    • And we became expert at hiding our expertise for fear of reprisal. Of course, it wasn’t easy because every adult had the ability to call us on our shit.

      The Mickey D’s ashtrays I was familiar with were miniature aluminum frisbees embossed with the restaurant logo.

      I was no Boy Scout. And even when I WAS a Boy Scout (for about five minutes), I was no Boy Scout LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh man, some of the things I did growing up, It’s a wonder I have lived so long and I actually was a good kid, unlike my siblings who followed and seemed to get away with murder. Why is it the oldest paves the way? LOL Thanks for taking me back to the ‘good ole days.’ Have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so true, isn’t it? My God, the things we would do, and like you, I was a good kid. Definitely a little rough around the edges when I was in elementary school, after which I became an introvert, got bullied, learned boxing and got in some trouble again! Thankfully not for long.

      Have a great weekend as well

      Liked by 1 person

  5. B

    No, we weren’t looking for trouble but we were out there living life, taking chances, learning how to defend ourselves, how to negotiate, what our limits were and there was nobody telling you to be careful coz you’ll hurt yourself.

    Back then, most of us were not overweight – because we were out all day running around, jumping through things, etc. – so having the very rare Mickey D’s was no big whup. Smoking? Well… that came later, for some of us, anyway!

    I remember how pissed my mother was when the seatbelt law came into effect. Before that dire time, I remember sitting in front of my father “driving”. In the back seat? We were piled 5 deep on the regular. I was so jealous of the Armisteads because they had a station wagon with the wooden sides and they were able to have all six kids PLUS invites!

    My sisters (particularly) regularly piled in waaaay too many in Mom’s car, once they had our license, of course, and drove into town to party at the Old Munich. It was THE place to hang and have Schnapps and beers!

    Now, somehow, in our schools there was no official paddling of the asses but lemme tell you, the brothers in my private Catholic high school? They were not against a handsmack in the back, make you sit straight and tears rolled down your cheeks. (Not me, of course, but poor Christian in my class…)

    We used to get diplomas for good behaviour. I didn’t get one until my last year of high school… Not saying I was a brat…

    I kind miss those days.

    Perfect tune, of course.

    Q

    Liked by 1 person

    • Q

      The world was a simpler place. Mind you, there were plenty of complications but the fixes did not seem nearly as dubious as they do nowadays.

      I remember the heavy kids because honestly, there weren’t that many of them. Like you said, we were active. It wasn’t video games and energy drinks and snack foods. It was being outside and learning the world.

      I had my first smoke when I was 7. I smoked again when I was 12, but that’s only because my cousins, who were a few years older were smokers. I didn’t really truly care about smoking on any kind of regular basis until I was in high school. And really, I was never as serious as most. Justifications!

      Hahahaha! There was an interesting piece done on the topic where interviews were found of people railing on about seat belts. It sounded like the face mask nonsense!

      Kids piled in a car. The good old days!

      I remember going to L’Amour East on Queens Boulevard, just outside Manhattan. It was this big old warehouse that scored ALL kinds of acts, big and small. It was the center of the universe on the weekend.

      I was so surprised that 12 states still allow corporal punishment. Of course, it’s doubtful it’s carried out in the same manner as back then.

      You? A brat? . . . .

      Me too.

      Thank you!

      B

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, but the complications seem so much different now then they were then, don’t you think?

        We had so few chubby kids. They really did stand out. Them and the Four-Eyes (like my sisters).

        Haha! Lynne Armistead and I got ourselves some smokes and smoked until we were green (and she suffered from asthma, so not the smartest thing). She moved away when she was about 11-12 so… And then I started smoking at 16-17. So stupid. And athlete, to boot.

        Oh yeah! They are MY rights! YOU can’t force me to wear a seatbelt! Ummm… if you have an accident, the government pays so yes, they DO have a say but hey…

        The good old days!

        Oh wow. ALL kinds, eh?

        No way! That is nuts.

        I know. Shocker…

        Me too.

        You know it!

        Liked by 1 person

        • They’re insidious, yes. And it seems as if we no longer have a unified obligation to change things for the better. It’s one side against the other.

          I remember. Back in a time when you could say chubby and it wasn’t a hate crime.

          At least you can say you were young and clueless. How’s about being in your forties, running five to six times a week and enjoying Oxy cocktails and smokes on the weekend? Talk about dumb.

          It’s like the states here who wants to secede from the union. Until a natural disaster happens and then they are on the phone with FEMA.

          Maybe Billy Joel was right, maybe the good old days weren’t as good as they seemed. But hell, at least there was a better understanding of things, right?

          πŸ˜‰

          Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s nostalgic thinking back to what turned out to be the Good old days. I bought my son a dirt bike when he was 13, now I’m like what was I thinking. As a biker chick I did my share of crazy stuff, that’s all behind me now. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  7. You mention McDonald’s … but here’s the difference between then and now. Today, a small soft drink at McD’s is equivalent to a large soft drink back then. And there were no free refills. The fry orders were a lot smaller too. And, when I was a kid, my parents could feed our family of six for less than $5. These days, $5 gets you one fry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well . . duh! πŸ˜‰ Yeah I don’t think the average patron gives a fig (something they SHOULD be eating) about the obscene serving sizes. Sadly. Every time I crave the stuff, I remember that I can do it up so much better with much less regret.

      Yup. 5 bucks was overkill!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. The good old days weren’t perfect, but I was glad I grew up then and not now. And I’m old enough that I was actually a young adult when the seatbelt laws came out. I didn’t like it because…get this…I thought we didn’t look cool wearing them. Lordy… 

    And then there’s my husband, who spent his weekends at his grandparent’s farm because his parents worked weekends. There was a river at the back of it, and his cousins would build rafts so they could float on it. They tested the rafts by putting my husband on it to see if it would actually float. It usually didn’t. Between that and a few other things (he actually set fire to his grandma’s bed while playing with matches), I do sort of consider it a miracle he lived to see adulthood!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have absolutely no idea how I survived my youth. Of course, I also have no idea how I survived my teen’s, twenties, etc. But at least in my youth, I got to enjoy being out at night until our parents made us come in after a day of playing anything and everything. Baseball, basketball, football, street hockey, kickball…we made our own entertainment and saw each other daily. That’s all changed, and I think we’re all the worse for it. Sad. In other news, you have now virtually assured I am going to get me some McD fries tomorrow!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Me neither!

      Me neither! LOL

      That was the thing right there. Hanging out until dusk in the summer. Checking in throughout the day, unless the folks weren’t around.

      That was the best part, making things up as we went along. And I do believe you are right, it ain’t better these days.

      Happy to help!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. AH, good ol’ asbestos!

    You know that’s what killed Steve McQueen (Mesothelioma), ending his car chases, motorcycles and race cars included?

    Girls never got the strap, but I did. Pulled my hand away at the last second. Teacher strapped her leg.πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. I got more straps added.

    It was for chewing gum in school. I learned my lesson, and moved on to cigarettes.

    Love the Iggy song!

    😘😘😘😘 (variant of MUAH)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.