The Cool Post Pt. I: The Edmonton Oilers

Mark Messier – NHL Legend and 6 Time Stanley Cup Winner

While I don’t believe in GOAT debates, I’m totally open to a conversation involving cool. So in lieu of the artificially derived contaminant that lords over the sports talk crowd, Imma dish up some coolness instead; as in coolest teams, players and maybe even coaches. And for the sake of brevity, I’ll devote each episode of this thing to a different cat or club.

I’ll bon this voyage by giving a nod to the world’s most overlooked sport, hockey. It might get treated like an unfinished basement stateside, but as far as I’m concerned, playoff hockey is the penthouse of postseason sports.

So without further ado, let’s drop the puck!

As my first entry in the Cool Cats Club, I’m going with the 1984 Stanley Cup champion Edmonton Oilers. Back then I was rooting for the New York Islanders in a finals rematch after they swept Wayne Gretzky’s boys the year before. And when New York routed the Oilers in Game 2 to even the series, it looked like a good bet the Isles might match those great Canadiens teams of the ’50s with a fifth straight Stanley, but nope. Edmonton would win the next three games by a combined score of 19-6 to clinch their first world championship.

They don’t make postseasons like that anymore, considering that the finals participants had 13(!) future Hall of Famers on their respective rosters. The ’84 Oilers contributed seven of them; Jarri Kurri, Paul Coffey, Mark Messier, Glenn Anderson, Kevin Lowe, Grant Fuhr and Wayne Gretzky. These days, that’s a hell of a division.

This collection of ice cold killers would go on to win five Cups in six seasons and if not for a heartbreaking Game 7 loss to the Calgary Flames right in the middle of that run, who knows? In that game, Oilers defenseman Steve Smith scored into his own net to give the Flames the series so really, the only team that could beat the Oilers during that time? Was the Oilers.

What that ’84 club possessed as a team was- to borrow from the poet George Costanza- akin to discovering plutonium by accident. They were young and experienced, with Lowe, Messier and Gretzky having cut their teeth on a second division Oilers club that split from the World Hockey Association to join the NHL five years earlier. Messier and Gretzky were teenagers on that team, two of the hockey world’s best kept secrets playing in the middle of nowhere. But not for long.

Personally, I think the fact they weren’t Broadway or LA made them even cooler. The province of Alberta may as well have been a beach on Mars for all us kids knew, and when they closed out New York in Game 5 at Northlands Coliseum, our friend Danny spoke for many of us when he exclaimed . . .

Where the FUCK is Edmonton?!

Many of us, but not me. I was digging this dynamic squad out of some witness protection program locale just fine. I hated them plenty, but in that sportingly affirmative sense where hat tips are a language all their own. The young Oilers were lightning quick and impossible to nail to the glass, as if they were playing pinball while the rest of the league was playing pong. In a sport where every goal was weighted to a prayer, they changed the church rules and scored in sinfully descriptive torrents. It was like the first time you read Kerouac, got lost in a Van Gogh or listened to Prince. It was the understanding that you were in the middle of a brilliant storm and you didn’t want an umbrella.

That first title team also happened to provide a brilliant example as to the sport’s expanding footprint, with Jarri Kurri becoming the first Finnish born player, Grant Fuhr the first black player and Jaroslav Pouzar the first Czech born player to raise the Cup. I didn’t concern myself with any of that at the time because it didn’t matter at the time.

I knew cool when I saw it.

Lindsey Stirling- Crystallize

 

 

37 thoughts on “The Cool Post Pt. I: The Edmonton Oilers

  1. The Oilers were loaded in that era. It was nuts. Everywhere the other team’s players turned, there was a different Edmonton star waiting to ruin their shift. And to be sure, the only team that could take them down during that amazing run was…the Oilers themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • They went more than five deep, with players who could’ve started and starred on other teams either on the bench or sharing time. It was an amazing collection of talent that, with the cap, we will never see again.

      I remember when they lost that quarter finals matchup to Calgary, a team they had beaten so many times. It was not only a great run for Edmonton, but for Canadian teams in general.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As a HUGE hockey fan, you can’t much better than the Great One. Bar none. And to this day I continue to be grateful he never got traded to Vancouver who shall forever remain on my short list of teams to loathe and despise after Mark Crawford’s fatwa on Steve Moore by Todd Bertuzzi.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can always count on you to bring a great bit of grudge to some remembrance. That’s exceptional right there, and it’s why I love talking hockey with you. I learn so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m usually not a vengeful person…but what Crawford & Bertuzzi did (that cheap shot ruined Stevie’s NHL career) was borderline criminal. That team will always and forever be known as the Cannuckleheads as well as bastards. 😈 Have a good weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. B

    I feel ya on the GOAT debates. Now looking at the cool factor? Whole ‘nother most interesting conversation. I like it.

    And how can hockey be overlooked? I feel that of all the sports, the hockey playoffs are the most exciting. Yes. It is the penthouse!

    Haha! Little parenthesis inserted into my comment because I am watching a show and a doctor says to a student, “What was it that Gretzky said? That you miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” To which the student replies, “Who’s Gretzky?”. The doctor is flabbergasted…

    Sorry, we return to commenting… I will have to agree with you on this particular entry even if it has nothing to do with my Canadiens.

    I actually remember that series, though not with the detail you share. Then again, I never got into the nitty-gritty and am always in awe of your gusto and fervor with any sports info you possess. (Even if I know you must certainly do a certain amount of searches to get all the deets right 😉 )

    13 future Hall of famers! That’s more than impressive. What’s cool is I recognize almost all the names, to boot.

    Edmonton… lemme tell you. Outside of the Oilers and the Mall…

    Must admit I love that you were digging the dynamimc. And yeah, they were more than cool.

    Just like your choice of Lindsey Stirling playing in the type of cold they see up in Edmonton!

    Q

    Liked by 1 person

    • Q

      And besides, the GOAT debates are so much more limited in scope. Coolness has no end in sight, because I have dozens of ideas at the ready.

      Watching the fucking Rangers whom I usually can’t stand, beat Carolina . . . and I’m ROOTING for the fucking Rangers. I don’t know any other sport that hooks you like that. Okay, maybe football. But the playoffs in hockey are better.

      History began five minutes ago for some of these young ‘uns. It’s amazing, the spectrum. You have your teenagers who crush on Sinatra and then you have your twenty somethings who don’t know who Madonna is!

      The Oiler run was right in the middle of a long run of Canadian teams winning titles. The Oilers won five, the Flames won one and the Habs won two. It was the last golden age of Canadian hockey. Now we have to rely on the Canucks or Oilers and I am not confident.

      I had to check, because I thought Steve Smith scored that goal to win the conference finals for Calgary but it was only the second round. As for the nationalities, yeah, I had to ask the Google on that.

      Several of the Oilers, Kurri, Coffey, Anderson and Messier, went on to win Cups elsewhere as well. So the organization’s impact on the sport as a whole was ridiculous.

      Can you imagine going to see the Edmonton Oilers of the WHA in 1978, some rag tag squad of brash knuckleheads who had no idea how great they could be yet . . . in the middle of nowhere. Years away from taking over the hockey world. Wow.

      I rooted for Canadian teams. I was the least popular kid on my block when I rooted for Montreal to beat the Rangers in the ’79 finals, but so what?

      I had Prince at first but then I remembered this song!

      B

      Like

  5. Okay, I didn’t know about all of this, but I know who the Oilers are.

    More importantly, I know where Edmonchuck is. (I can say Edmonton that way, because I’m Canadian)

    I was lucky to stay there with my rat dad, and win money at the track for awhile. (Jockey dating story era)

    I also know who Wayne Gretzky is. He should have stuck with hockey.

    He had a line of men’s clothes.. does it still exist? If it does, it shouldn’t. Anyway, I bought a Gretzky velvet(ish) jacket for an actor once. Cheap as 15 bowls of borscht, it must have been made of recycled hockey padding.

    It sat on the body like a rug jacket, and could have stopped a slap shot.

    Well, I supposed it was hockey inspired.

    👍🏒 This has been yet another sports based comment from someone NOT in the know. 🏒👍

    MUAH!

    Liked by 1 person

        • Good for you! Yes, it’s been tough sledding, but Cohen seems genuine in his desire to make it happen. It just might take a little longer is all.

          Warning you in advance that I’m a Yankees fan. But unlike most of my brethren, I’m not obnoxious about it. And I do have a soft spot in my heart for the Mets since my grandfather was a big Mets fan.

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.